top of page

The UK Hallmark

It is a legal requirement to hallmark all articles consisting of platinum, gold, palladium or silver (subject to certain exemptions) if they are to be described as such.

The history of hallmarking in the United Kingdom goes back to Henry III in 1238. To read about the fascinating history from The Goldsmiths' Company Assay Office click here.

Assay - the testing of a metal or ore to determine its ingredients and quality. 

Sponsor's Mark

Also known as Maker's Mark, this is the registered mark of the company or person that submitted the article for hallmarking. It is comprised of the initials chosen by that person or company inside a surrounding shield shape. The shield shape varies, and a minimum of two, and maximum of five initials must be included. A Sponsor's Mark is compulsory and every mark is unique.

Kristin Cross London Sponsor's Mark

Traditional Fineness Symbol

The traditional fineness symbol is an optional part of the hallmark.

Millesimal Fineness Mark

This mark tells you how fine, or what quality, the metal is, as well as indicating the metal type. This numerical format was made compulsory in 1999 and shows the precious metal content of the article, expressed in parts per thousand.  The shape of the surrounding shield indicates metal type. 


Assay Office Mark

This compulsory mark tells you which Assay Office tested and hallmarked the article. The historic image of the leopard’s head, the town mark for London, and the mark of the Goldsmiths’ Company Assay Office, continues to be internationally recognised as the stamp of approval and guarantee of quality from the renowned home of hallmarking. The leopard's head mark of London has been used by some of the finest craftsmen in history, on some of the most prestigious and celebrated works.

Date Letter Mark

A non-compulsory mark, the date letter changes annually on January 1st. The font, case, and shield shape all change so each can only indicate one specific year.  All date punches are destroyed at the end of the year.

Commemorative Marks

Historically, commemorative marks have been added to the regular hallmark to mark special events.





Sterling silver, Britannia silver, gold, palladium, platinum


London, Birmingham, Sheffield, Edinburgh.


2024 King Charles III Coronation Hallmark

bottom of page